Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What does the ministerial decree entail?

The ministerial decree in question is the ministerial decree on private and public activities of a cultural, social, festive, folkloric, sporting and recreational nature. It was published on March 19, 2020 and amended on April 7, 2020.

The ministerial decree can be found via the following link: http://www.ejustice.just.fgov.be/eli/besluit/2020/03/19/2020040675/justel

Under normal circumstances, as a consumer, you are entitled to a refund of the full purchase price of your original ticket. However, this ministerial decree has been drawn up in order to protect the leisure sector. If every consumer would ask for a refund, many festivals, event organizers, concert halls, museums, etc. could go bankrupt.

Each organizer is free to decide how they wish to put into practice the standard imposed by the ministerial decree.

Postponed events

How do I find out what happens to my ticket?

Each organizer is responsible for the communication around his ticket policy. It is advised to consult the website of the organizer in question.

Will my ticket remain valid for an event that has been moved?

If the event for which you purchased tickets, e.g. a festival, performance or concert, is moved within the period of 2 years after the original date, or an event with the same essential characteristics is organized within that period, your ticket will remain valid for the new event.

In this case, the organizer in question will provide the necessary information regarding that ticket.

Your original ticket will be valid for the new event, or the organizer will provide you with a credit that you can spend on an event organized by them. This event must have the same essential characteristics as the original event and take place within two years from the original event.

What does an 'event with the same essential characteristics' mean?

An 'event with the same essential characteristics' means that the new event is of the same nature as the original event.

  • For example, a festival refers to the same festival; that takes place under the same name at the same or a nearby location and with a similar lineup. In practice, however, a festival can never be exactly the same.
  • In a concert, this means that the same main act will perform.

If the new event cannot be moved within two years of the date, the ticket holder will receive a refund.

What if I'm unavailable on the new date of the event?

The ticket holder must accept the postponement of the event or voucher unless he/she is unable to attend on the replacement date. You will then receive a refund of the purchase price (including service and/or reservation costs).

The ticket holder must be able to prove that he/she will not be able to be present on the replacement date.

What are considered valid reasons why I might be prevented from attending the new date of the event?

The ministerial decree does not specify what is or is not considered to be a valid reason why a person might be prevented from attending the new event. However, evidence must be provided as to why the ticket holder is unable to attend. Only on presentation of proof will the ticket holder be entitled to a refund of the ticket price purchased.

The reasons must be legitimate, meaning that you know well in advance that you will not be able to attend the event. A pre-planned medical intervention, a long pre-planned marriage or a long pre-planned trip are some examples of this.

Each organizer will make his own assessment. It is therefore advisable to visit the website of the organization in question, or to contact it directly.

Cancelled events

What happens to my ticket if the event is cancelled?

If an event cannot be moved to a new date within 2 years of the original date or if an event with the same essential characteristics is not organized during that period, your money - including service and/or reservation costs - will be refunded. You will receive your refund no later than 3 months after the ministerial decree has become ineffective.

Subscriptions, annual passes, season passes and the like

I have a subscription, year pass, season pass or something similar with an organizer. What happens to this?

It is advised to consult the organizer's website where you have purchased a subscription, annual or seasonal pass. Organizers will deal with this differently, depending on the ticket type, type of show, etc.

Voucher

In what form will I receive my voucher?

The organizer is free to decide how the voucher is issued. This can be your original ticket that remains valid for the new or moved event. An organizer can also choose to provide a credit equivalent to the value of the originally purchased ticket. This can be spent by the ticket holder on the new event or other events with the same essential characteristics of the organizer, within the period of two years after the date of the original event.

How long is my voucher valid for?

You can use the credit up to 2 years after the date of the original event for which you have purchased a ticket.

Refunds

Can I get my money back instead of the voucher?

Under normal circumstances, you are entitled to a full refund. However, this measure was created to protect the cultural sector.

You can only get your money back in the following situations:

1) The event is moved but you are unable to attend. If you can prove this, your money will be refunded within a reasonable period of time.

2) The event is cancelled. This means that an event with the same essential characteristics will no longer take place within 2 years of the original date. You will then be reimbursed within a reasonable period of time.

Every ticket buyer is always free not to ask for a refund; the industry will be grateful.

Bankruptcy

Can the organizor go bankrupt?

The measures taken, have been put in place to minimize the risk of a bankruptcy. The voucher is valid for a period of 2 years. This limits the risk that the ticket holder will lose his money due to bankruptcy on a longer term.

Can I make a donation?

Gladly! Each organization will set this up in its own way; please visit the website of the organization in question directly.

Recently, LIVE2020 was established; a solidarity fund for and by various players from the Belgian live music industry. The live music industry is joining forces with the public and wants to raise money to help anyone who makes live music possible; from backliners to stagehands, from musicians to booking agents, from DJs to stage builders, from sound engineers to roadies, etc. You can support LIVE2020 by making a donation, or by participating in one of the actions. You can find all info on the website.

Will my event, organizer, theatre or festival participate?

In principle, all Belgian theatres, concert halls, organizers, pop podiums, monuments, museums and festivals can make use of these measures. The expectation is, of course, that they will too. It is up to the organizer to provide the right information to its customers. It is advisable to consult the website of the event, organizer, theatre, festival etc. for more information.

Do you have any more questions?

First, turn to the organizer's website, and wait for further communication by the organizer.

Cookies allow a fluid use of this website. These cookies do not collect personal data. Read more

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

Que signifie le décret ministériel ?

Le décret ministériel en question est le décret ministériel sur les activités privées et publiques à caractère culturel, social, festif, folklorique, sportif et récréatif. Il a été publié le 19 mars 2020 et modifié le 7 avril 2020. Le décret ministériel peut être consulté via le lien suivant :

http://www.ejustice.just.fgov.be/eli/besluit/2020/03/19/2020040675/justel

Dans des circonstances normales, en tant que consommateur, vous avez droit au remboursement de la totalité du prix d'achat de votre billet original. Toutefois, ce décret ministériel a été élaboré afin de protéger le secteur des loisirs. Si chaque consommateur demandait un remboursement, de nombreux festivals, organisateurs de concerts, salles de concerts, musées, etc. pourraient faire faillite.

Chaque organisateur est libre de décider comment il souhaite mettre en pratique la norme imposée par le décret ministériel.

Événements déplacés

Comment puis-je savoir ce qu'il advient de mon billet ?

Chaque organisateur est responsable de la communication autour de son système de billetterie. Il est conseillé de consulter le site web de l'organisateur en question.

Mon billet restera-t-il valable pour un événement qui a été déplacé ?

Si l'événement pour lequel vous avez acheté des billets, par exemple un festival, une représentation ou un concert, est déplacé dans les deux ans suivant la date initiale, ou si un événement présentant les mêmes caractéristiques essentielles est organisé dans ce délai, votre billet restera en principe valable pour le nouvel événement.

Dans ce cas, l'organisateur en question fournira les informations nécessaires concernant ce billet.

Votre billet original sera valable pour le nouvel événement, ou l'organisateur vous accordera un crédit que vous pourrez dépenser pour un événement organisé par lui. Cette manifestation doit présenter les mêmes caractéristiques essentielles que la manifestation initiale et avoir lieu dans les deux ans suivant la manifestation organisée à l'origine.

Que signifie un "événement présentant les mêmes caractéristiques essentielles" ?

Un "événement présentant les mêmes caractéristiques essentielles" signifie que le nouvel événement est de la même nature que l'événement original.

  • Par exemple, un festival désigne le même festival, qui se déroule sous le même nom, au même endroit ou à proximité, et dont l'offre est similaire. Dans la pratique, cependant, un festival ne peut jamais être exactement le même.
  • Pour un concert, cela signifie qu'il s'agit du même acte principal.

Si le nouvel événement ne peut être déplacé dans les deux ans suivant la date, le détenteur du billet sera remboursé.

Que faire si je ne suis pas disponible à la nouvelle date de l'événement?

Le détenteur de billet doit accepter le déplacement de l'événement ou du bon, à moins qu'il ne soit pas en mesure d'assister à la date de remplacement. Vous recevrez alors un remboursement du prix d'achat (y compris les frais de service et/ou de réservation).

Le détenteur du billet doit pouvoir prouver qu'il ne pourra pas être présent à la date de remplacement.

Quelles sont les raisons valables qui pourraient m'empêcher d'assister à la nouvelle date de l'événement ?

Le décret ministériel ne précise pas ce qui est ou n'est pas considéré comme une raison valable pour laquelle une personne pourrait être empêchée de se rendre à la nouvelle date. Toutefois, il convient de fournir des preuves des raisons pour lesquelles le détenteur du billet ne peut pas se présenter. Ce n'est que sur présentation d'une preuve que le détenteur du billet aura droit au remboursement du prix du billet acheté.

Ce sont donc des raisons légitimes, qui signifient que vous savez bien à l'avance que vous ne pourrez pas assister à l'événement. Une intervention médicale planifiée à l'avance, un long mariage planifié à l'avance ou un long voyage planifié à l'avance en sont quelques exemples.

Chaque organisateur fera sa propre évaluation. Il est donc conseillé de visiter le site web de l'organisation en question, ou de la contacter directement.

Événements annulés

Qu'advient-il de mon billet si l'événement est annulé ?

Si un événement ne peut être déplacé à une nouvelle date dans les 2 ans suivant la date initiale ou si un événement présentant les mêmes caractéristiques essentielles n'est pas organisé pendant cette période, votre argent - y compris les frais de service et/ou de réservation - vous sera remboursé. Vous recevrez votre remboursement au plus tard 3 mois après que l'arrêté ministériel est devenu sans effet.

Abonnements, laissez-passer annuels, abonnements saisonniers et autres

J'ai un abonnement, une carte d'abonnement annuel, une carte de saison ou autre avec un organisateur. Que se passe-t-il ?

Il est conseillé de consulter le site web de l'organisateur où vous avez acheté un abonnement, une carte annuelle ou saisonnière. Les organisateurs traiteront cette question différemment, en fonction du type de billet, du type de spectacle, etc.

Bon d'achat

Sous quelle forme vais-je recevoir mon bon ?

L'organisateur est libre de décider de la manière dont le bon est délivré. Il peut s'agir de votre billet original qui reste valable pour le nouvel événement ou l'événement déplacé. Un organisateur peut également choisir de fournir un crédit équivalent à la valeur du billet acheté initialement. Le détenteur du billet peut le dépenser pour le nouvel événement ou pour d'autres événements présentant les mêmes caractéristiques essentielles que l'organisateur, dans les deux ans suivant la date de l'événement initial.

Quelle est la durée de validité de mon bon ?

Vous pouvez utiliser le crédit jusqu'à deux ans après la date de l'événement original pour lequel vous avez acheté un billet.

Remboursements

Puis-je être remboursé au lieu du bon ?

Dans des circonstances normales, vous avez droit à un remboursement complet. Toutefois, cette mesure a été créée pour protéger le secteur.

Vous ne pouvez récupérer votre argent que dans les situations suivantes :

1) L'événement est déplacé mais vous ne pouvez pas y assister. Si vous pouvez le prouver, votre argent vous sera remboursé dans un délai raisonnable.

2) L'événement est annulé. Cela signifie qu'un événement présentant les mêmes caractéristiques essentielles n'aura plus lieu dans les deux ans suivant la date initiale. Vous serez alors remboursé dans un délai raisonnable.

Chaque acheteur de billet est toujours libre de ne pas demander de remboursement; le secteur vous en sera reconnaissant.

La faillite

L'organisateur peut-il faire faillite?

Les mesures prises ont été mises en place pour minimiser le risque de faillite. Le bon est valable pour une période de 2 ans. Cela limite le risque que le détenteur de billet perde son argent en raison d'une faillite à plus long terme.

Puis-je faire un don ?

Evidemment que oui! Chaque organisation le mettra en place à sa manière ; veuillez consulter directement le site web de l'organisation en question.

LIVE2020 a été récemment créé; un fonds de solidarité pour et par différents acteurs de la musique live belge. L'industrie de la musique live s'associe au public et souhaite collecter des fonds pour aider quiconque rend la musique live possible; des agences de booking au backliners en passant par les musiciens et les gérants de salles. Vous pouvez soutenir LIVE2020 avec des dons, en créant des actions solidaires ou en participant à l'une d'entre elles. Veuillez trouver toutes les informations sur le site.

Mon événement, organisateur, théâtre ou festival participe-t-il ?

En principe, tous les théâtres, salles de concert, organisateurs, monuments, musées et festivals belges peuvent faire appel à ce dispositif. Il appartient à l'organisateur de fournir les bonnes informations à ses visiteurs. Il est conseillé de consulter le site web de l'événement, de l'organisateur, du théâtre, du festival, etc.

Vous avez encore des questions ?

Tout d'abord, rendez-vous sur le site web de l'organisateur, et attendez la suite des communications de l'organisateur.

Cookies offrent une utilisation simple du site. Ces cookies ne collectent pas de données personnelles. En savoir plus